The greatest thing

I’ve been a Christian, a believer and follower of Christ Jesus, for a long time. My story began when I was just a boy with a Billy Graham crusade on network television (my mom made me watch). Pastor Graham extended the invitation to a new life in Jesus and I accepted right there in my living room.

The decades in between have been quite a journey. There have been exhilarating mountain peaks and deep dark valleys. I’ve been good, I’ve been bad. I’ve served God and I’ve served myself. I’ve learned a few things.

  • I tried to live a religion about performance. However, like Paul in his letter to the Christians in Rome, I quickly learned that: “I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. (Romans 7:15)”
  • I tried to live a religion based on rules. I can be comfortable with rules; I know where I stand. They are also impersonal and tend to point out my failures, rather than my successes. I needed more.
  • I’ve observed that God is faithful. He does not change. He will never leave me. He will always love me. Jesus Himself told us: “I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand. (John 10:28)” When I face difficult times, I repeat that line over and over: no one and nothing will snatch me from His hand.

This is what I’m learning right now. While a faithful God that is consistent and provides us with guidelines for staying out of trouble and loves us unconditionally is VERY GOOD, it is not the entire story. Our God is bigger. Our God is a Creator. He brings new life and this new life is unexpected and unpredictable! [1] It’s the greatest thing I’ve discovered about God so far.

A relationship with God is truly a journey. I’m so thankful that I’ve been able to join Him in it. I wonder what will happen next…

  1. Peterson, E.H., 2017, As Kingfishers Catch Fire, Chapter 3, Waterbrook, Colorado Springs, CO.

 

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

