Love/give

You’ve probably heard this scripture. It’s kind of a big deal.

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. (John 3:16)

Because God is love (1 John 4:8) it makes sense that we should learn about love from Him. Let’s take another look at this key verse from John’s Gospel.

For God so loved the world that he gave

How did God demonstrate His love for us? God loved, so He gave. What did He give? He gave that which was most precious to Him. He gave that which would cost Him the most.

How should we love? I think we should model God’s love for us. We should give and we should give what we cherish the most. Perhaps it is our time. Perhaps it is our attention. I’m going to offer an option from my own experience.

I think we should give our will. I’m suggesting that your will is what stands between you and daily, selfless love. Your will is what insists “me first” and “what I want”. I think that will is at the heart of pride. Let look at Isaiah 14:12-15. It describes the fall of Satan.

12 “How you are fallen from heaven,
O Lucifer, son of the morning!
How you are cut down to the ground,
You who weakened the nations!
13 For you have said in your heart:
I will ascend into heaven,
I will exalt my throne above the stars of God;
I will also sit on the mount of the congregation
On the farthest sides of the north;
14 I will ascend above the heights of the clouds,
I will be like the Most High.’
15 Yet you shall be brought down to Sheol,
To the lowest depths of the Pit.

He states “I will” five times in his heart. His “will for self” separated him from God and got the former worship leader thrown down from Heaven. To grow closer to God, to love God, therefore, must mean giving up your will and embracing obedience.

What about loving those around us? I think love works the same way with your spouse, your children, your friend, your co-worker… When I set aside my will with my wife and seek to hear and serve her, I love her the best. When I set aside my will with my children and seek to hear and serve them, I love them the best.

Give it a try. Because you love, give…

 

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

