Midnight train

img_0519Have you ever been loved?

I have. I am. Undeservedly. Amazingly. Unbelievably.

I was riding in the car with my wife and daughter. My 16 year old daughter was the DJ from her phone. She played “Midnight train to Georgia” by Gladys Knight & the Pips.

They were both singing. My wife is famous for her accompanying hand motions. I was struck by the end of the song.

He’s leaving
(leaving)
On that midnight train to Georgia
(leaving on a midnight train)
Oh yeah
Oh y’all
Said he’s going back to find
(he’s going back to find)
A simpler place and time
(and when he takes that ride)
Yes he is
(guess who’s gonna be right by his side)
I’ll be with him
(I know you will)
On that midnight train to Georgia
(leaving on a midnight train to Georgia)
(whoo whoo)
I’d rather live in his world
(live in his world)
Than live without him in mine

This is a song of a man’s failure and then his love’s commitment to him. Here’s what this response enables. It lets the man be a man. Take a risk. Be humbled and still be valued.

It is priceless and my wife loves me that way. Underserved, but fully appreciated.

That love has an author. It is God. And he loves you the same way.

You’ll never take your midnight train alone.

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

