More than a savior

imageIf you’ve spent any time around church, then you probably know about  John 3:16. It’s the greatest news we can receive.

16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

Jesus did not actually say these words. It is John’s explanation of Jesus’ role as SAVIOR in our lives, provided we are willing to accept our need for deliverance from sin and believe that Jesus, and only Jesus, offers it.

Here is something Jesus did say, though. It comes from John 10.

14“I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me— 15 just as the Father knows me and I know the Father—and I lay down my life for the sheep.

Ask yourself this simple question. Do sheep follow the shepherd or does the shepherd follow the sheep?

Obviously the sheep follow.

In these verses Jesus not only establishes himself as our SAVIOR who lays down his life to pay the penalty for our sin, but also as our LORD who leads us away from danger into safety.

Are you exhausted with the effort of saving yourself, of serving as the king (and subject) of your kingdom of one? Then turn to Jesus right now. This is your time. He is the only one capable of being both your LORD and SAVIOR.

28“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” (Matthew 10:28-30)

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

