Pride defeated

imageI’ve failed in many ways. I’ve disappointed myself and hurt others. When I look carefully, if I train my Sherlock Holmes magnifying glass on the many crime scenes, there is always a telltale fiber, a thread that connects the events.

I know this thread and so do you. It’s not new and it’s not unique to me. It is woven through your fabric as well.

According to Christian teachers, the essential vice, the utmost evil, is Pride. Unchastity, anger, greed, drunkenness, and all that, are mere flea bites in comparison: it was through Pride that the devil became the devil: Pride leads to every other vice: it is the complete anti-God state of mind…
… it is Pride which has been the chief cause of misery in every nation and every family since the world began. — 
C.S. Lewis, Mere Christianity (New York: Simon & Schuster Touchstone edition, 1996), 109, 111.

I’ve been thinking about pride. I’ve pleaded with God for release from its clutches. This was my answer:

When God is first, pride is defeated.

It’s a matter of position. Either I am seeking to make myself first or I am submitting to God and he is first. I envision the finish line at the end of a foot race. Either I am leaning and straining to break the tape first or I am content to draft off my loving father, the I AM, and follow him to the prize. The choice is clear.

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

