Look at me daddy

img_0419I was recently at the airport on my way to Detroit. A dad, mom, and two daughters of about 4 and 2 years had ridden the same shuttle from the parking garage to departures as me. After security, the dad seated the older girl on his roller bag and wheeled her toward the gate. Mom was pushing little sister in a stroller. It was a heart warming scene.

Big sister squealed, “I can’t see” (she was facing backward on her makeshift carriage) and “Look at me daddy!”

How appropriate. Aren’t we all simultaneously expressing, in one way or another, the same two sentiments regardless of our age or situation? “I don’t really know what I’m doing” and “Will somebody please notice me?”

I have great news. Your father in Heaven is watching with love and compassion. He sees tremendous value in you. He also knows what is best for you and wants to both keep you safe and bless you abundantly. Say both to him right now and see how he responds. “Look at me daddy — I can’t see!”

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

