Water, water, every where

image

The year is 1986. I’m a junior in high school in my first period English class. It was here that I fell in love with literature and writing. One pivotal assignment was to read The Rime of the Ancient Mariner. I was so moved by this poem that I memorized a portion:

Water, water, every where,
And all the boards did shrink;
Water, water, every where,
Nor any drop to drink.

Although the stranded ship is surrounded by water, the crew is dying of thirst. The everywhere-water is not potable; they cannot drink it and survive.

My junior year was 30 years ago. That’s not a significant amount of time in world history, but I’ve still witnessed major changes in our everyday lives.

Rotary dial to push button to cordless to mobile to smart phones. Everywhere. In every pocket and purse.

Vinyl to eight track to cassette tape to CD to iTunes. Led Zepplin to Ozzy Osbourne to Guns-n-Roses to Nirvana to the Red Hot Chili Peppers to … I don’t know … Drake?

Black and white with an antennae on the roof and me as the remote control to color with a huge satellite dish and a VCR to a giant flat screen with way too many cable channels to an iPad with wireless Netflix.

I started at the library’s card catalog and now find myself with unlimited digital information via Google. In fact, while I do appreciate the convenience, I’m not sure that I’m consistently finding “potable water” with this surplus of readily available information. Many of what I see, hear, and read cannot sustain me. If I drink it I’ll become ill, not refreshed.

Jesus already addressed this problem. He knows that we have an inherent thirst for truth and knowledge. This is what he told the Samaritan woman by the well in John 4.

13 Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, 14 but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

If you find yourself overwhelmed by just-too-many sugary nutrient-free info-sessions, may I invite you to enjoy a cool refreshing glass of Jesus’ wisdom and guidance? You’ll find him in the pages of the Bible. It hasn’t changed one bit in the same 30 years that have seen such radical transformation. From Genesis to Revelation, it all points to our loving Savior. Pull up a chair, take a seat, and drink. I guarantee you’ll be satisfied.

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

