Made for better

Better-Made-logoPsalm 139 is David’s celebration of God as our continuous companion. It begins with:

You have searched me, Lord,
    and you know me. (verse 1)

This is reassuring when we realize that this God who knows us so well still loves us so much. Miraculous!

The second stanza begins:

Where can I go from your Spirit?
    Where can I flee from your presence? (Verse 7)

This comforts us when we realize that God will never leave us. No matter what. When you choose God, you never need to be alone again. Wonderful!

However, the following line from the third stanza has been my focus for the previous week:

I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made (verse 14)

You and I were made by God. My thoughts have been saturated with this statement. It’s a life changing truth.

I am made…

I am made for…

I am made for better.

I have been using this statement throughout my daily life. When I’m driving to work in the morning and I become frustrated with traffic, I remind myself that I am made for better than aggravation with other drivers. When I find myself frustrated with the fifth student to knock on my door in the last fifteen minutes, I remind myself that I am made for better than selfish impatience. When, when, when…

I am constantly reminding myself that I was made for better. This not only redirects my attention away from the behavior I know is not worthy of my adopted heritage through Jesus, but it also points me toward the man that I can be through God’s limitless mercy and grace.

I am made for better. You are made for better. Say it, know it, and respond! Blessings to you my friend.

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

