Let’s talk

imageI’m trying to be a better friend. I know that a healthy, growing relationship requires consistent two-way communication. If I’m honest with myself, I have to admit that in my most important friendship I talk far more than I listen.

I’m trying to overcome my wrong ideas about prayer. I’ve mostly limited my time in prayer to requests: for forgiveness, for help, for escape… Certainly our loving father wants to hear these petitions, but this prayer time can be so much more. I think that God is saying, “Let’s talk.”

While reading last night, I was surprised to find this same idea in the pages of Robinson Crusoe (published in 1719), the story of a man who was shipwrecked on a deserted island.

Thus I lived mighty comfortably, my mind being entirely composed by my resignation to the will of God and throwing myself wholly upon the disposal of his providence. This made my life better than sociable, for when I began to regret the lack of conversation, I would ask myself whether this conversing mutually with my own thoughts, and (as I hope I may say) with even my Maker, by conversations and petitions, was not better than the utmost enjoyment of human society in the world? (Chapter 11)

Take some time for a conversation today. As you talk with God, avoid a monologue. Add time where you are silent and just listen. See what your best friend has to say to you.

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let’s talk

  1. Pingback: Fear/love | theholyschmitz

Leave a Reply

