Takknemlighet, dankbarkeit, gratitud, gratitude

gratitudeAre you a thankful person? Do you make a habit of expressing your gratitude to those who help and support you?

Today I had help from two amazing people. I was preparing a second Pigskin Professor video series to describe contemporary engineering concepts in simple terms. My video production team was Junior Hernandez and his wife Roni. Fantastic couple. They worked with me all day to get my vision on video.

Driving home, it occurred to me that it was important for me to thank them. I was reminded of the many people to whom I owe a great debt of gratitude. I think this is true for most of us.

We have a great model for thankfulness. If you grew up in church like me, then you’ve probably observed Holy Communion (the Lord’s Supper) many times. How does it start?

And when he had given thanks, he broke it and said, “This is my body, which is for you; do this in remembrance of me.” (1 Corinthians 11:24 NIV)

And when he had given thanks… Jesus taught us the importance of offering our gratitude to God. This is a life choice, a lifestyle. It is independent of circumstances. It brings us closer to our loving Father as we recognize that he is our constant provider and protector.

I encourage you to practice thankfulness this week. Surprise someone with your gratitude today. Lavish your thanks on God. You’ll be blessed. I’m sure of it.

Thanks for reading!

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

