Just dust

dust

I get discouraged. Do you?

It’s ironic because the source of this discouragement and frustration is often my most intimate times with God. In those times when I am truly focused on him, rather than myself, I see his holiness and majesty, his greatness, more clearly. It’s wonderful.

Later, I find myself repeating the same mistakes, facing the same struggles, and… I get discouraged. I lose courage.

God understands. So did David. David was a mighty man of God, his anointed king. David celebrated and worshiped God. He was a warrior. He also knew fear and failure.

In Psalm 103, I find peace and reassurance through the words of David. They combat my own discouragement. I hope they help you as well. Please read the entire chapter, but here are the two verses that are so meaningful to me.

13 As a father has compassion on his children,
    so the Lord has compassion on those who fear him;
14 for he knows how we are formed,
    he remembers that we are dust.

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

