The second healing

One of my favorite aspects of Jesus’ healing miracles is that they are not all the same. Sometimes he speaks, sometimes he touches, other times he commands. It is comforting that his miracles are not “one size fits all”. To me, this demonstrates that Jesus knows we are all different and each desire his individual response. The good news is that he is willing to give it! Here is a list of Jesus’ miracles in chronological order in case you’d like to read more.

http://aboutbibleprophecy.com/miracles.htm

I was reading in Mark 8 this morning and found another reason to trust our God even more fully. Jesus understands that we may not respond to his touch the first time. Here’s the story:

22 They came to Bethsaida, and some people brought a blind man and begged Jesus to touch him. 23 He took the blind man by the hand and led him outside the village. When he had spit on the man’s eyes and put his hands on him, Jesus asked, “Do you see anything?”

24 He looked up and said, “I see people; they look like trees walking around.”

25 Once more Jesus put his hands on the man’s eyes. Then his eyes were opened, his sight was restored, and he saw everything clearly.

Jesus spit on the man’s eyes and touched him, but his sight was not yet fully functional. Of course this does not indicate that Jesus did not have the power to heal the man the first time. For this guy, he could see a little, but not yet perfectly. Jesus did not chastise him for his weakness. Rather, he touched him again. He could then see clearly!

I’ve had exactly the same experience, except with sin. I’ve fallen, knew I was doing wrong, and asked for God’s help. Sort of. In my heart, I hadn’t really let go of the sin. I wanted to be mostly rid of it, but maybe keep just a small bit around in case I wanted it later. I could not yet see clearly. My vision was blurry. After falling again (and again), though, Jesus forgave me as I turned away from the sin and my sight was restored. I could then see my way clearly, without the sin that was previously blinding me.

Have you had this experience? Are you in a hard situation right now because of your mistakes? Take heart from Mark 8. Jesus will touch you again. He will never leave you. Ask him to restore your sight so you can walk away from the wrong situation. We already know that he will!

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

