The passive trap

I heard a great sermon on marriage from Pastor Jimmy Evans, Gateway Church. He talked about the Garden of Eden and Adam’s role in the first act of disobedience. A casual reading of Genesis 3 might lead you to believe that Eve was primarily at fault.

When the woman saw that the fruit of the tree was good for food and pleasing to the eye, and also desirable for gaining wisdom, she took some and ate it. (Verse 6)

Careful, men, before you point a finger. Read the next verse first.

She also gave some to her husband, who was with her, and he ate it. (Verse 7, emphasis mine)

Adam was right there! He could have killed the serpent after his first lie to Eve. He could have offered Eve his support. He could have stopped her from eating the fruit. He did none of these things.

This realization stopped me in my tracks. Today’s Adam, me, also has the weakness of passivity. Have you ever found yourself delaying or avoiding an unpleasant task, conversation, or responsibility? This is the passive trap. The absence of doing the right thing is equivalent to doing the wrong thing. So, what do we do?

Husbands, cherish your wives today. Not tomorrow. Fathers, spend time with your children today. Not tomorrow. Sons, honor your parents today. Not tomorrow.

At work, I often start my day by doing one thing that I don’t want to do that day. I can then reward myself with a task that I do enjoy (I love writing numerical simulations of machining processes, for example — yes, I’m thoroughly weird). This week, I am going to start each day by active obedience to God’s instructions for me. We defeat the passive trap by one step of obedience. God does the rest. I encourage you to begin. Right now.

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

