Hand-El

bethelI’m too often preoccupied with making sure I get everything done that I’ve committed to doing. On time. With excellence. You may wonder why I would want it any other way. Here’s why. If I am consumed with “handling my business”, then I am not consumed with God. Period.

I’ve tried to have both God and… (you fill in the blank) and I simply cannot do it. Ever.

I think I know the solution, though. It is frustratingly simple. I just need to switch two letters. Consider the profound difference in these two statements.

I am going to handle my business.

I am going to handel my business.

In Genesis 28, Jacob is on the run from his brother Esau. Jacob stops to rest and, while sleeping, dreams of a ladder stretching from earth to heaven. He names the place Beth-El, House of God (El = god).

Now take another look at the second statement. I am going to handel, hand El (God), my business. Give it a try this week… let’s hand-El together… and let me know what happens. Peace!

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

