How to rob a bank

I’m learning something new. My understanding is still in progress, so this may not be complete. Just bear with me.

As a Type-A, achievement-driven middle-aged man (that’s an attractive picture), I have spent much of my life bringing projects to completion. I spend my days driving manufacturing research to its conclusion (if you believe research is ever finished). I’ve spent much of my adult life pushing players toward their best football (just win baby… I suppose that matters).

I’ve also made the mistake of thinking that my relationship with God has a near-term destination. Let me say that another way. I’ve tried to somehow muster the strength and consistency to “arrive”… to reach the place where I no longer disappoint myself, hurt others, and act contrary to what I believe. I’ve been fooled into thinking that I can put enough knowledge, effort, and willpower into the bank to stop failing. I’ve falsely assumed that I can “save enough to last me through retirement.”

I no longer believe this. I’m learning that the only sustainable alternative is to ask my personal counselor, the Holy Spirit, to give me what I need each day to share the grace that has been shown to me and give the love that has been lavished on me. By praying each morning for my “daily bread” and relying on Jesus’ power in me to love those around me, to be gentle, to be patient, I am witnessing a radical life change. Let me say that again. Starting every day with an honest request to the Holy Spirit for Jesus’ strength and mercy has transformed my life.

Learn to rob a bank. Dispel the myth that you can save enough to get by on your own reserves. Deny the power that success-based contentment has over you. Rely instead on Jesus. He’ll show up every single day. Peace and joy are waiting for you!

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to rob a bank

  1. I really like the title. ROB THE BANK! I remember watching a documentary on a serial bank robber, and he talked about how through experience he learned all the places the money is kept so he could get the most out of the robbery. Shouldn’t we have the desire to go further and dig deeper in our prayer life? I believe there is a progression to God’s provision where the more we seek the more we shall find! Going to be taking this to heart this week, I appreciate it Dr. Schmitz! I also wanted to share this poem with you.
    “I met God in the morning
    When my day was at its best.
    And His presence came like sunrise
    Like a glory in my breast.
    All day long His presence lingered.
    All day long He walked with me.
    And we sailed in perfect calmness
    On a very troubled sea.
    So I think I have learned a secret
    Learned from many a troubled way.
    You must meet Him in the morning,
    If you want Him through the day.”
    –Unknown

Leave a Reply

