His thoughts, His ways, His word

Isaiah 55:8-11 (NIV)

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
    neither are your ways my ways,”
declares the Lord.
“As the heavens are higher than the earth,
    so are my ways higher than your ways
    and my thoughts than your thoughts.
10 As the rain and the snow
    come down from heaven,
and do not return to it
    without watering the earth
and making it bud and flourish,
    so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater,
11 so is my word that goes out from my mouth:
    It will not return to me empty,
but will accomplish what I desire
    and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.

I’ve read this scripture and heard great teaching on it before. I’d previously understood it as a promise that when God’s word is spoken, it always achieves its purpose. I still believe that. However, when reading it today, I was also thinking about John 1:1 (NIV).

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.

With the understanding that Jesus was, is, and will always be the Word, I read Isaiah 55 in a new light. Consider this…

God states that His thoughts and ways are higher than ours. To communicate His thoughts and ways to us, He sent His Word. The metaphor is rain that descends from the heavens to earth. It nourishes the earth and produces growth. It provides new seed (for more growth) and bread for the hungry.

Look at what Isaiah 55 says about Jesus, the Word, the rain. It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it. Thank you Jesus! He achieved God’s purpose. He accepted the penalty for our sin and provides us with new life in Him. Amazing!

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

