Salvation city

At that time, this song will be sung in the country of Judah: We have a strong city, Salvation City, built and fortified with salvation. Throw wide the gates so good and true people can enter. People with their minds set on you, you keep completely whole, Steady on their feet, because they keep at it and don’t quit. Depend on GOD and keep at it because in the LORD GOD you have a sure thing. Those who lived high and mighty he knocked off their high horse. He used the city built on the hill as fill for the marshes. All the exploited and outcast peoples build their lives on the reclaimed land. Isaiah 26:4 MSG

This verse gives me tremendous hope. It says to me that, even though I know that I will continually fail God through my own selfish desires (history is my proof), I just need to get up off the ground every time I fall and take another step toward God. I don’t need to be perfect, just persistent.

My verbal response to this passage is: “I will not quit.” It chokes me up to say it because with that declaration comes the overwhelming comfort that God is a sure thing. He will never leave me. He will never leave you.

If you are not already a Christian (a follower of Jesus), take the risk. Use the next three months to seek Him and see what happens.

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

