What do you fear?

What do you fear? Collectively, we could make a very long list. If we looked carefully, though, I bet we would find a common thread. This may be a bit too personal, but I’m going to share it anyway. Most who know me would not guess that I’m sensitive (some may vigorously argue that I’m exactly the opposite). However, I’ve recognized a pattern that I’m trying to break. The root cause is fear of rejection. Here’s the scenario: we have an interaction and, based on that interaction (whether true or not), I feel rejected. Rather than risking further (or actual) rejection, I withdraw. Totally. Not very healthy, right? Silly? Yep.

As always, the Bible offers the wisdom that I (we) need. Check out Proverbs 29:25 (MSG).

The fear of human opinion disables; trusting in God protects you from that.

Here’s what God has taught me, but I am still learning. God already accepts us. We are good enough. For more on this, read:

https://theholyschmitz.wordpress.com/2015/04/19/you-are-good-enough/

My hope for you is that you embrace the truth that God’s opinion matters first and foremost (social media, anyone?). Further, his opinion is already decided and is not based on your performance. Trust in God and He will protect you!

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

