Read-itate

The Bible is God’s word. It is a living document and the Holy Spirit will teach us new and wonderful truths about our Creator if we will take the time to study it. I hesitate to use the word meditate because it has connotations that I don’t want to invoke. I’ll use the word (or at least pseudo-word) read-itate instead. What I mean is to read and question and ponder. God will not hide the truth of His word from you if you seek to understand it.

Let me offer you an example of how I read the Bible. Let’s consider the story of Jesus’ first miracle. It appears in John 2. Here are the first three verses.

On the third day a wedding took place at Cana in Galilee. Jesus’ mother was there, and Jesus and his disciples had also been invited to the wedding. When the wine was gone, Jesus’ mother said to him, “They have no more wine.”

I’ve been reading John recently and here are the questions I asked from these three verses.

On the third day

The third day from what? What is significant about three days? Does this point toward Jesus death and resurrection on the third day?

a wedding took place at Cana in Galilee

How close was this to where Jesus grew up? Did Jesus know the bride and groom? What were weddings like in Jesus’ time? Was this Jesus’ first wedding?

Jesus’ mother was there, and Jesus and his disciples had also been invited to the wedding.

I tried to put myself in this situation. Jesus had grown up nearby (probably lots of folks knew Him) and now He had a group of followers, who believed that He is the prophesied Messiah. This made me wonder why the disciples were invited. My conclusion was that His mother was directly involved in the wedding. I wonder if it was a family member getting married. A brother? A sister?

When the wine was gone, Jesus’ mother said to him, “They have no more wine.”

Again, this makes me think that Jesus’ family was directly involved. Why would Jesus’ mother know there was no more wine?

This is how I read-itate. Study the Bible and God will reveal Himself to you. Now get to it!

 

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

