I’m a little dog

I had a dream last night. True story.

I was walking my dog, Beaux. He’s a Shih Tzu (don’t judge me). A large dog approached us and starting sniffing around him. Beaux was scared and I was suspicious that this was a wolf, so I picked Beaux up and held him. The wolf-dog lost interest and moved away from us. There was another large dog nearby, to my left and behind us. Big, white dog — looked like a German shepherd. The wolf-dog and white dog began to fight. Although it started as an even match, as I turned to watch the wolf-dog quickly got the upper hand. I woke up as the wolf-dog was tearing the rear leg off the white shepherd.

Beaux

Lying there in the dark (it was about 3:30 am), it occurred to me that I’ve tried to be the white dog. I’ve tried to rely on my own strength. There is always a wolf that shows up who is stronger than me. Every time. In my best moments, I’ve been the Shih Tzu. I look to my protector, Jesus, and humbly submit to His care. He picks me up and I am safe. When I’m in His arms, the wolf loses interest and moves away.

John 10:10-11

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full. “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.”

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

