You are NOT the provider

This message is relevant for everyone, but I have young men in mind, particularly those that are thinking of getting married. One of the lies that the enemy will tell you at this important time in your life is, as usual, a partial truth.

You will be told that you are undertaking a tremendous responsibility. You must now be the provider for your wife and, possibly, children. You must make enough money to afford a home, transportation, food, and on and on. You must save for college, for retirement, and no amount is ever enough. While it is true that you will need to work, it is a subtle and destructive lie that you are the provider.

Let’s visit Psalm 23 and expose this lie.

The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.
    He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters,
    he refreshes my soul.
He guides me along the right paths
    for his name’s sake.
Even though I walk
    through the darkest valley,
I will fear no evil,
    for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
    they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me
    in the presence of my enemies.
You anoint my head with oil;
    my cup overflows.
Surely your goodness and love will follow me
    all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the Lord
    forever.

In this psalm, David is describing Jesus. How does he begin? He says, effectively, that Jesus is the provider (verse 1). He is the shepherd (which means we are the sheep) and that, because Jesus is our shepherd, we will lack nothing. Jesus provides!

Don’t let the enemy steal your peace with this provision lie. Rest easy. Here is the truth. Be responsible, work hard, and Jesus will handle the rest. Joy!

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

