What does your wife look like?

I was serving at Elevation Church this morning when another volunteer asked me about my wife. I’ve known him for a while, but he’s never met my wife, Christine, so it was a reasonable question when he asked, “What does your wife look like?”

What surprised me was my complete inability to answer his question. I was speechless. My wife and I will celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary this August, so I actually know what she looks like very well. However, the multitude of thoughts that rushed to my mind had nothing to do with her physical attractiveness.

Here’s what I didn’t say.

“My wife looks like grace because she’s forgiven me when I did not deserve it.”

“My wife looks like mercy because she’s supported me when she could have corrected me.”

“My wife looks like love because she taught me how to love by loving me first.”

Men, go hug your wife right now. Tell her she is beautiful. Appreciate her today for all she has been and all she will be.

I love you Christine.

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What does your wife look like?

  1. connectdd says:

    So cool! This should be published and shared broadly.

Leave a Reply

