Jesus’ joy

I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete. John 15:11

Jesus spoke these words to His disciples following the Last Supper. When reading this I wondered, “What is Jesus’ joy?” It doesn’t say exactly, so I read the surrounding verses to learn what it might be.

Verses 9-10 speak specifically to love and obedience.

As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. If you keep my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commands and remain in his love. John 15:9-10

I think Jesus’ joy is based in love for the Father, as well as keeping His commands.

Let’s go further. This passage of scripture describes our relationship to Jesus using an agricultural metaphor.

I am the vine; you are the branches. John 15:5

Jesus emphasizes the importance of us remaining in His love and sharing that love with others. I think Jesus’ joy is also based in us, in His unconditional love for each one of us.

This provides a model for our joy. Our joy is complete when we love, when we lay down our own will for others, when we remain in Jesus’ love by relentless obedience.

Multiply your joy, love more!

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

