Bringer or taker?

Consider a scenario. You’ve been attending a church for a while and find yourself saying, “I’m just not getting anything anymore. I think I need a change.”

Here’s another. You’ve been involved in a small group for about 8 months and begin thinking, “I’m not sure I have time for this. My schedule is so full, maybe I should stop going for a while and start again when things aren’t so busy.”

Even this: “I need to change jobs. This one just isn’t fulfilling me.”

Certainly, there are legitimate reasons to change churches, small groups, and jobs. However, I challenge you to ask the following question of yourself before making a decision. “Do you view your situation as a place of bringing or taking?”

In other words, do you approach your church, small group, job (or insert your situation here) as a place of service, where you constantly bring your own contributions, or do you attend only with the intention of meeting a need?

My assertion is this. If you approach a situation to take, it will eventually run dry and you will leave. If, however, you engage to constantly bring, you will find that there is always more to be experienced and you will stay.

Are you a bringer or a taker?

 

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

