No fear

I am thankful for God’s desire and action to free us from bondage. I would encourage you not to accept the excuse “that’s just the way that I am”. God wants to give you freedom from whatever is holding you back. Let me give you a personal example. For the better part of my adult life I have struggled with fear, a very specific fear that I think many men face.

I started graduate school in 1994 because God opened a door for me. I went back to school to get my PhD and be a professor (mechanical engineering). I was naïve about what the job actually entailed and, as soon as I learned about the reality of the position, I began to fear it. That fear grew until, at the point of graduation, I was so scared that I could barely function at the faculty position interviews. That fear drove me to work ridiculous hours and neglect my family when I did finally accept a university job.

I am only now gaining freedom as I humble myself before God and rely on his strength. This is God’s desire for us:

For God has not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind. (2 Timothy 1:7)

I am encouraging you to ask God for freedom from whatever bonds you. He will answer in a big way.

About Tony Schmitz

Tony Schmitz received his BS in Mechanical Engineering from Temple University in 1993, his MS in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1996, and his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Florida in 1999. He is a mechanical engineering professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
This entry was posted in Growth and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

